header-employment

 

 
History

 

 

The mini golf course has been a Caseville landmark for over 55 years. Built in 1959 by Don Primo, was then franchised and transferred to Oliver Nelson and William Angelucie in 1960. When Ray and Jean Starkweather purchased the Putt-Putt Golf in June 1969, their son Jim Starkweather, with help from his parents on the weekend, managed the course for 80-90 hours a week. The Dairy Inn Restaurant adjacent from the golf course was also built by Ray and Jean in 1971, which is where Jim would meet his future wife, Joyce Murdoch. Once they were running their business full-time, the giant slide was purchased in 1973 from Ray Clancy, who erected the slide while leasing the property from the Starkweather's. 1973 was a busy year for the Starkweathers because they also added the batting cages that same year. Ray and Jean retired from the business in 1980, and the slides and batting cages were sold in order to concentrate their efforts solely on the Putt-Putt Golf Course. The Bankshot Basketball was added in 1988, the Bumper Boats in 1993, and Water Wars in 1994. The course was renamed to Putt-Putt Golf and Games, and today is the Key North Mini Golf & Family Fun Center LLC. This gem continues to be a favorite stop for vacationers and area residents alike.